Research Overview

The Department of Computer Science at Texas State University is excited about the direction in which the department is headed as well as its many recent accomplishments.  The department continues to be the hub of computing related education and research activities on the campus.

The department has 22 tenured and tenure-track faculty members with active research in artificial intelligence, bioinformatics, computer communication and networking, cyber security and trustworthy computing, database and information systems, distributed and parallel computing, high performance computing, human computer interaction, image retrieval, multimedia computing, sensor networks, social computing, software engineering, and sustainable computing.  Faculty research has been supported by federal and state agencies and industry such as NSF, NIST, DoD, DoE, PNNL, LLNL, TxDOT, THECB, Semiconductor Research Consortium, IBM, Intel, NVidia, and Emerson.  Faculty research has resulted in 16 patents approved or pending in the last five years.  The department also engages other academic units on campus and local industry in a variety of research collaborations.


Active Research Groups

The department has formed the following active research groups:


Tremendous Growth of Research Grant/Contract Activities

The department has experienced ever-increasing growth in its grant and research activities in recent years. A few years ago, the department virtually had no grants or had just minimal grant activities. The department now has a faculty that is excited about research and has been obtaining impressive numbers of grants and funding from various sources (see the link below for a list of external grants/contracts which the computer science faculty has received since Fall 2007). Many of their activities, as well as that of some of our students, have become known in the field, both nationwide and abroad. The annual external research expenditure of the computer science faculty in recent years exhibits a tremendous growth, as shown in the following figure.


Prestigious Research Awards 

The computer science faculty has received several competitive, sought-after research awards.

Three faculty members, Drs. Mina Guirguis, Oleg Komogortsev, and Apan Qasem, received prestigious NSF CAREER awards in 2011 and 2012. Only two Emerging Research Universities in Texas have more NSF CAREER award winners on their computer science faculties.

One faculty member, Dr. Apan Qasem, won an IBM Faculty Fellowship award in 2008. IBM Faculty Fellowships are rarely awarded to the faculty of non-PhD-awarding departments. Another faculty member, Dr. Oleg Komogortsev, won a Google Faculty Research award in 2014.


External Research Grants and Contracts